Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Who Invented Electronic Locking?

Whoever they were, I hate them. Prepare for a rant.......

For the first time, I own a car with electronic locking. Every day is a wee adventure. For example, on my way back from a walk, I was some distance from the car, and decided to try and see if the car would open. It did. Before I got near it, however, it locked itself again. Seemingly, this is a security thing - in case you accidentally open your car when you didn't want to.

Monday was always going to be a busy day - offloading the lights I had picked up in Edinburgh, rehearsals, recording music etc. First things first - off load the lights. I backed the car up to the hall door, switched the ignition off, but left the keys in. The car gave one of its dulcet little tunes to remind me I had left the keys in. I ignored it; it has done it before, and it obviously doesn't like that I live in a safe part of the world where leaving your keys in the ignition is quite normal.

5 minutes later, I came out to the car, and was just about to open the door when - CLUNK! - everything was locked. I then had to borrow Pat's car and do the 20 mile round trip back home to get the spare keys.

It's seemingly another safety feature, to protect you from your own stupidity.

It must have been invented by a man, who never unpacks shopping from a car.

Rant over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.