Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Family Farewell

A very sad day as my family gathered together to celebrate and give thanks for the life of my aunt. She left us very suddenly and unexpectedly last Wednesday.

Many moving tributes from family and friends. It was good to support and spend time with my uncle, cousins and the extended clan. Apart from being a wonderful wife and mother to her five children, Auntie B spent much time practically caring for neighbours and those in her church community. She was also honoured by the Scouting movement, for nearly 45 years service. I vividly remember going to visit her at a camp in Ashworth Valley, dinner about to be served and Akela very much in charge of proceedings. I enjoyed sharing many happy memories with my cousins of holidays at our grandparents home in Lytham St Annes, fun on the beach and learning to bowl on a crown green with Grandad.

After the service and meal, we returned to the cemetery, to find my Great Aunt's grave. She was a gentle lady, who lost her two children and husband at an early age. I hold fond memories of her, particularly her interest in my music making and the books I would be reading. As I stood here, I thought about my grandparents, and great aunts and uncles who over the years have visited this place. I miss them all.

The reading from the Service :
"Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, trust also in me. In my Father's house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going."

Thomas said to him, "Lord, we don't know where you are going, so how can we know the way?" Jesus answered, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No-one comes to the Father except through me. If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him"

John 14 : v1-7 NIV

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.