will it go round in...

By simonzebu

Cool

The Ronson Premier varaflame gas cigarette lighter was once my coolest possession. I came across it yesterday while looking for something else. I mis-remembered its name as a Ronson Comet, which is actually a different model but way more appropriate name for this one.

First sold in 1957, it blatantly ripped off echoed the styling cues of a Cadillac or Chevrolet of that time with its 'V' logo and fin tail.

Funny, I remember it being shiny, when in fact it's a tatty old scratched piece of junk that doesn't even work. But the smokers and ex-smokers among you will remember surely that the cool of smoking was made doubly cool with the right lighter...


These blips seem to be getting earlier and earlier. We have to visit friends in Windsor where C has volunteered me to make Eggs Benedict for brunch. I'm so glad I don't get to waste my time sitting around reading the papers...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.