Clare's Symi

By claresymi

Spectacular!

Days like today make the rest of the week worth enduring.

A short drive, followed by a short walk with 2 lovely people, Hazel and David and Hazel's gorgeous doggie Snowy, to visit the grave of my own gorgeous doggie, Bonnie. As she is buried up on the mountain and I don't have transport or much spare time, it was the first time I've had a chance to go there since she was laid to rest on 1st July last year. Symi was bathed in sunshine and the smell of the pine forest was wafting through the air. On the way, I picked some wildflowers, tied them with some ribbon and laid them on the rocks which cover her resting place. Finally, I felt as if I had said a proper goodbye, although I hope I will get many more chances to visit her again.

Afterwards we returned to Debbie and David's house, where Debbie was cooking up a fabulous roast lamb feast, which we finished off with strawberries and cream. We ate on their little terrace which has a wonderful view over Pedi bay and while we were eating Snowy tucked into a pigs ear (bleuch - but he seemed to enjoy it!). I took lots of snaps and will upload some to Flickr and/or Facebook later, but was having trouble finding one to Blip.

Just as I was about to upload something, (anything!), loud banging and bright flashing began outside so I dashed out with my camera: my first opportunity to have a go at snapping fireworks! (which are all part of the Easter celebrations here in Symi and I suppose, all over Greece?) I didn't have time to find a suitable, steady surface or a good place to stand so, unfortuately, it meant the corner of my house would in every snap. Shot to shot my little kodak is woefully slow and without a tripod I couldn't get that lovely straight line of colour you get with good firework photos but overall I'm pretty pleased with the results and certainly now have more of an idea of how to do this next time. I'll upload a couple of other firework snaps to Flickr when I do the others from today.

So, another Sunday, another great day. I'm going to spend the rest of the evening pretending that tomorrow isn't Monday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.