Clare's Symi

By claresymi

Waiting for a Resurrection

I was trying to avoid any kind of Easter themed Blip but as I walked through the courtyard of St John's church after work, I couldn't resist trying to get some shots of the people waiting to go in for the late night mass. I would've hung around longer but my battery died and this was last snap I was able to take.

So, as most of Symi are in a church waiting for a Priest to announce 'Christos Anesti' (Christ has Risen), I'm at home, writing this, enjoying a large glass of cider and a diet marlborough, listening to the firecrackers and dynamite going off. In a few minutes I may go outside to my courtyard and see if I can see any fireworks and watch the people going home with their lit candles to eat their Magiritsa soup and end the lenten fast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.