Scarlet Haberdashery

By Haberdashery

Easter Monday

Today I have had a truly wonderful day with Clara. We lunched in North Berwick and basked in the glorious sunshine on Seacliffs beach. Bliss. I have been missing her something fierce of late. We lived and worked together on our gap year, sharing the tiniest of rooms, and yet we hardly ever fought. She is more than a friend, I think of her as my sister. I believe she knows the best of me and also the worst. That's not something to be sniffed at.

Tonight I went to visit my grandad in the hospital. Little sense was made, except for him to tell me that he'd had enough of me and he wanted me to leave. It's hard because he didn't know who I was, I think it was the first time that he didn't know that I in some way belonged to him, so I know that I shouldn't take it prsonally but it's hard not to when someone who has been so constant is becoming less and less so. I know I've taken a photo like this before, a while ago, but I really do find the surrounding constants of crisp sheets and immaculately laundered t-shirt very very comforting. Sometimes you need to focus on the small details to keep you on the straight and narrow. May he sleep well tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.