provisional

In time I will acquire my own panniers for my newly-fitted donated salvaged rack, but for this week Nicky's single 15.4W laptop-sized single pannier will have to do despite its inability to hold both a large box of washing powder and a loaf of bread at the same time, a situation remedied by using the shoelace I keep my keys on to attach the loaf directly to the rack. The main purpose of the week's rack-use will be to get it to settle and test that it's secure ready for attaching the wingpiglet to the Gumtree'd seat at the weekend, though not before I've tested the seat round the cycle paths with a wingpiglet-equivalent-weighted rucksack sitting in it. I may change my mind later but from my current point of view I'd've have gone for inconvenient over-engineering and sturdiness over quickness of release when designing the seat.

I'll also need to do a bit of buggering-about one evening this week with the old rack stays and my newly-replenished supply of M5 bolts of various lengths in order to provide somewhere to re-attach my rear lights so that they foul neither seat nor panniers, also preferably not being somewhere where they might be accidentally kicked off by a stray heel or where they could conceivable gouge or skewer a leg during mounting or dismounting but also where they can still be seen by vehicles behind me. The usual position in which a rack light would be fitted is right where the rear catch and release of the seat will be and whilst the seat has a reflector attached and a few reflective stickers stuck to the back there are no handy c.20mm-diameter tubes for attaching the light which was displaced by the addition of the rack and for which I have an actual spare mounting-clip. Another task will be to create something to which one or both locks can be clipped to so that I can remove the saddlebag when transporting the wingpiglet just in case it doesn't give his belly sufficient room or in case he manages to disengage the clip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.