While on my runs

By waipushrink

Pohutukawa framed yachts

Although the morning newspaper (the only daily one we have in Auckland) informed me that th North Island would be covered with rain for ten days yet, this morning was cloudy with no rain. Went out for a longish run, as the foot is improved and improving. By the time I got to Coxs Bay to start the second half of my run back through a series of parks, daylight was present.

I chose to take this picture given that this week's challenge is trees. Coxs Bay Park has many young pohutukawa planted around its edges, especially closer to the water here; they are a coastal tree, and stabilise cliff faces. In spring into early summer, they have great swathes of brilliant red flowers, and are known as the New Zealand Christmas Tree. The red is so bright, I can see it amongst the green. No flowers at this time of the year.

I had thought of taking a photograph to show the tree, and then saw the possibilities of this. To use the pohutukawa to frame the view of two yachts (one big and one small) on the mud flats out in Coxs Bay. The presence of the street light was a bonus. When I first looked at this picture, I was a bit disappointed; however, after a day at work, and a bit of reflection I have decided that I like it.

The pohutukawa is known botanically as Metrosiderosis excelsa. It is regarded as a symbol of summer in New Zealand with its brilliant flowers. Maori legend tells of Tawhaki (a young warrior) attempting to find heaven in order to get help in avenging his father's death. Like Icarus, he fell to earth and the flowers represent his blood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.