TeeJay

By TeeJay

Otira Viaduct

Headed from Hokitika to Christchurch today. Had to stop and take a photo of the viaduct. I turned off at the top and looped around the piece of the old road to Death Bend to take this photo. I opened the door and the wind literally wrenched it out of my hand. I could barely stand up so all I managed was a point and shoot with no merit whatsoever other than the subject matter.

Now, I'm aware that lots of people have driven over this viaduct. And let's face it, a piece of state highway, viaduct or not, is really not all that interesting. BUT this one is made interesting by the fact that I have walked INSIDE it.

I used to live in Springfield, the nearest township to the viaduct (90km away?) and when it was being built I was friendly with some of those involved in the construction. Through a friend of a friend I got invited up to the site and walked through inside it before it was opened. The whole thing is actually hollow and you can walk through from one end to another. It was an absolutely incredible experience, and one that I recall every time I drive over this piece of road.

To Sue and Rae - thank you for creating that memory for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.