PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Bonsai & haiku

Over ten years ago, where we then lived, there was a mountain ash, or rowan, in our garden. That meant that every summer, when I went out to weed the garden, I would weed dozens and dozens of baby rowans from the flower beds and lawn. I'd come in and boast how many trees I'd felled!

I have a love-hate feeling over bonsai trees. Deliberately stunting the growth of a tree seems cruel and unnatural. On the other hand, look at how many trees I threw away every year. So, this one I saved. Each spring it looks lovelier and lovelier as it matures. Nevertheless, my enduring discomfort about the bonsai concept and process persists, hence my haiku - combining two Japanese arts:

There is no comfort
for branches void of song-birds:
these are Bonsai trees.


poem © Celia Warren 2011

(The tiny dwarf, standing on his head beside the tree, is not quite typical of Japanese ornaments for Bonsai gardens!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.