Pebble

It's a long time since I last blipped a pebble. Thought this one was so attractive it deserved its own poem.

I am a pet that is easy to keep.
I don't need food and I don't need sleep.
When you're away I'm okay on my own.
You'll find it's no trouble to have a pet stone.

The neighbours won't mind as I won't make a noise.
I can't claw the curtains. I won't chew your toys.
No hairs on the carpet. No bills from the vet.
No cages to clean with a stone as a pet.

My name is Pebble - I'll live in your shed.
You can teach me to lie on my back and play 'dead'.
My edges are curved - you can train me to roll;
Oh, there's never a moment that's dull with a stone.

I'm always obedient - tell me to stay
And you know I'll be safe while you go off and play.
A stone never dies - even old stones - and yet
So few people think of a stone as a pet!

poem © Celia Warren 2012

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.