Must try harder....

By mikesnos

MMR? I was lucky... Sort of....

This little character is something I could not do without in my life.

I was fortunate to lose my hearing when I caught Rubella, otherwise known as German Measles, while my Mum was expecting me. Fortunate? I hear you ask... Yes, fortunate because of all the things that could have happened I consider losing hearing to be the 'best' option; let me explain. Foetuses contracting Rubelle are susceptible to Brain Damage, limb deformity and Deafness among other things. For me, although it is often unpleasant, isolating and confidence sapping, Deafness is miles better than Brain Damage and limb deformity.

To give some idea of the level of Deafness I have, Without hearing aids (both ears) I can hear absolutely nothing except perhaps very loud noises and these are muffled and often, but not always, indistinguishable.

I am fortunate also because I went to a mainstream school and had support from family, friends and teachers. Special thanks have to go to the school headmaster who was willing to take me on board and give me a chance. My parents, family and friends I have known since Primary school also get many thanks for looking out for me and asking after me even after so many years out of touch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.