Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

School's Out

I went back to Public School Number Four. The last time I shot it, I didn't have the wide angle capability afforded by the Ricoh GRD III.

I waited until my wife got back from work/gym and set out in the car. It was another hot muggy afternoon. I would have been a sweatball within 10 minutes if I had decided to go for a walk.

It really is a tragedy that some use could not have been found for this fine building. Obviously, the presence of Interstate 95 rules out its use as a school but a community centre or arts centre would have been possible.

I have the sneaking feeling that to preserve it for future generations would likely be a lot more expensive than demolition and with the tea party mentality in the ascendancy in Jacksonville, I wouldn't hold my breath regarding the building's long-term future.

I think Jacksonville should be nicknamed the Dithering City in honour of the council members that have been elected in the past 50 years or so.

Just when will the US Cavalry ride in and rescue me from this beleagured place? :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.