Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Bottlebrush Flower

I find it difficult to get going on Monday mornings. The feeling stems from the perception of another week stretching before me, a week that will be the same as the previous week and the one before that.

Eventually, I ventured out but with no ideas in mind. I headed towards the St Johns River in the hope that it would provide some inspiration.

I took one or two river shots, featuring a pleasing cloudscape, but the arbiter in my posts, my wife, liked this shot of a bottlebrush flower best of all.

I took a similar shot a couple of weeks ago but did not know the name of the tree. I asked my wife to ask her colleagues at work, mostly Florida natives as opposed to incomers like ourselves, for the name of the tree but she forgot. Today, I sent her this picture and finally got the name.

It is known colloquially as the bottlebrush tree, taking its name from the shape of the flowers. Its official name is Callistemon rigidus. Who said blipfoto was not educational? :-)

Zeiss Planar T* ZE 1,4/50.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.