Blipaholic Deb

By BlipaholicDeb

My little Robins have their babies!

So I know round about where the nest is, but I haven't gotten too close as I know that Robins are very territorial but today they didn't like me being as close as I have been previously.

They were both out finding food, one a dead spider (now that surprised me, not sure why!) and the other a tasty caterpillar. So I waited, and waited, probably about 30 mins before they started to appear from their hiding places, one even tried to lure me away whilst the other waited in the tree ~ very clever little birds!

I backed off for a bit but not too far, and then they started to land on my bird bath which is where they land before they dive into the nest they've made in the ivy. The minute the robin was in, I heard the chirping of baby robins, then silence again. Amazing! It really amazed me how long they held onto the food, they led me a merry dance for quite some time, darting all over the garden and the caterpillar was still alive, curling itself up onto the robins beak, which he would shake off. Fascinating birds, not sure I would have the patience with any other bird, the robin definitely has a place in my heart!

Sorry to bore you all!

So I got a few shots today, I would love to have gotten closer but they are obviously very protective parents and I haven't photographed them for a while so myabe I'll try my luck a little more tomorrow.

Almost the long weekend again. Hope the sun is shining for you all!

Found this shot from when they were nesting, not an excellent shot, but a fun shot, will have to back blip it when i get onto my other laptop where the original is hiding nesting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.