Must try harder....

By mikesnos

Shhh... Don't tell Alex....

My Nephew, Alex, takes the love of all things Locomotive based to dizzying heights so, in the interests of a full night's sleep and the peace of mind of his parents please don't mention this photo to him! Yesterday's blip I am sure would get him excited; today's.... I'm not sure we could envisage such excitement levels ;-)

Anyhow, after yesterday's failure, and gallant rescue via iPhone, today I was more prepared and, it has to be said, very very fortunate. I was scheduled to carry out some work in the Village near this level crossing and so I managed to sneak out and have an early lunch-break to do a spot of 'Gricing' as trainspotters call it. Me? I call it showing an interest!

The Locomotive is the former LMS (London Midland and Scottish) Princess Elizabeth built in 1933 in Crewe. She was withdrawn from BR (British Railways) service in 1962. The train was the Cathedrals Express running from London Kings Cross to York returning to London later in the evening.

You can find out more about 6201 Princess Elizabeth either here. or here on her offical website here

Enjoy the long weekend and the wedding too if you're planning to watch it :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.