Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Snake Holes

A desert sunset.

One thing you learn quickly when you plan to take a sunrise or sunset shot is to have patience. Or to snap a hundred times, hoping that one snap will turn out to be the perfect one.

I was having much patience last night. Until I looked at my feet. It wasn't the worst sight...a rattlesnake...but it was a fright nonetheless. A freshly used rattlesnake hole. When you live in these parts, you learn to recognize the signs.

I was in the perfect spot to capture my sunset. But I didn't want to be anywhere near a snake hole. Upon further inspection, I saw about eight of them surrounding me...but they didn't seem active (unless they were 'in' holes and not 'out' holes).

I couldn't move down the path fast enough. I had to move about twenty-five yards before I found what I considered a safe distance from any snake condos.

I had to have patience waiting for that sunset, all the while keeping an eye around me and my ears open for that certain sound.

I was really distracted and didn't get a kazillion snaps off but I did manage a few. This was the best. It was heavily overcast, so it got very dark, very fast. I thought it amazing that the clouds broke just enough for the entire sun to shine through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.