Mangonui Harbour

This is one of my favourite places (pronounced Mong-an-ew-e).

As a kid and teenager I spent many long hours fishing off that wharf. Between Dad, Stephen and I we've caught every inshore species of fish there is catch in these parts, minus the Bronze Whaler sharks the first Maori settlers named the harbour after.

Dad was alarmed when I announced in my last year of school I wanted to be a commercial fisherman. Within a couple of days we both headed off to the then Vocational Guidance to 'steer' me down an academic track. I still wonder what life would have baceen like if I'd forged where few woman went at that time. It certainly would have been demanding.

The building sticking out over the water in front of the wharf is the famous Mangonui Fish Shop. These days it's expanded with seating where you can eat your fish and chips. When I was a wee nipper it was dingy and you almost stood on the road when you placed your order.

Mangonui is an easy 1 hour drive north of Opito Bay. We spent several hours earlier in the day fishing off the wharf at Whangaroa Harbour about half an hour down the coast. I had a splendid John Dory on my line but I could see as reached the surface the hook was on the edge of it's soft mouth. As I lifted it from the water it dropped off. Yep, the one that got away. We had fun, enjoyed the company of a lovely elderly local man who generously caught and shared live bait with us. I missed the John Dory but they're beautiful creatures and part of me is glad it swam away. There were a zillion baby Snapper around the wharf, clearly the intended dinner of the Dorys.

On other occasions I've had superb wind surfing with my friend on this harbour. Today we left the kayaks behind but unlike Whangaroa, Mangonui Harbour was sheltered from the wind.

Mangonui will always be a special place and wherever I am part of me resides here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.