creative lenna

By creativelenna

Nia dance class

These lovely, happy women are part of the Nia, joy of movement dance class I take twice a week over on Anna Maria Island, here in Florida. On the right is my wonderful instructor Gail Condrick. It was her 61st birthday today, so I convinced the class a birthday photo was needed! They were happy to oblige me. My instructor Gail is very youthful looking, don't you think? I would never have guessed she turned 61 today. It must be from teaching Nia for the past 12 years or so! Happy birthday Gail!!!

My mother was the one who introduced me to this class. At the time I had been busy at a local fitness center taking Zumba classes, doing some weight training and other fitness classes when mom told me she wanted to buy me a couple of Nia classes as a gift so I could try it. She had been going for a while and I had not ventured because I was doing other things. Talk about looking youthful! - my mom is 76 and dances so beautifully in this class! She was a little under the weather and could not come to class today or I would have included her in this photo as well. Here is a photo of her leaving the class the other day, I so love it.

Because so much of Nia is based in modern dance, I have fallen in love with it. It takes me back to my roots of creativity through movement. I started modern dance classes when I was 7 or 8 (thank you mom & dad!) and I consistently went to class and also performed with local modern dance troupes regularly. I did this until I was about 40 years old. Now at 54, I am so happy to have found dance again.

I still go to the fitness center, but I really look forward to these classes every week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.