Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

True Love

The juxtaposition of our regular office break room, metal shelves lined with odds and ends, lack luster ceiling tiles and no frills furniture, against the excitement of the royal wedding and this impromptu celebration seems a perfect statement of the world we live in. Fairy tales and the hope of true love float in the distant corners of our minds while we endure the mundane, repetitive duties of our day. Yet, here we are, always peaking around every corner, hoping to find a surprise that may change our lives.

When we were young, we looked into every pair of eyes, we searched diligently for true love, we were fearless. As we grew, we saw what we saw, and looked away, perhaps even wishing we had never looked at all. Eventually, we walked, eyes down, daring not to look, fearing to hope, sickened by disaster in our world. We knew disastrous attempts to create our own fairy tales had left us dry, but still we longed to hope again.

The whole world awakened at the idea that, perhaps, William and Kate would show us that true love exists, that dreams come true and fairy tales are more than tales. Their willingness to 'play the role' while reaching for a 'normal' life; their willingness to be on display for the sake of the broken, hungry and hopeless, bring to life our desire to believe again, that we will find true love...there is still a tomorrow around every corner...and eyes that wait for ours to gaze within are looking too.

I wonder if Kate ever watched Princess Diaries.

My True Love came when I understood that I was truly loved by the God to Whom the prayers were spoken during the ceremony today. I am now loved by a man who, in his own strength, could not make my dreams come true, but by the power of the God of the Universe, his love sets my heart free, and I can look into the eyes that are looking back at me with incredible hope and incredible courage, none of it my own. My heart lifts a prayer that the world that is searching for true love will find it, and that dreams will come true. We were made for love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.