CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Being up and down

Sunny Stroud this morning had the bonus of the sound of a samba band reverberating down the narrow streets. They were leading the International Workers Day parade around town with banners flying in the breeze. Leading the march was the large traditional woven banner of the Stroud Constituency Labour Party, and looking magnificent. It reminded of when I used to visit my friend Siobhan when she worked at the Museum of Labour History in Manchester many years ago. There she showed me countless trade union banners that were so evocative.

The samba band grabbed one's attention and Helena and I strolled with them to the parade's destination at the forecourt of the Stroud Subscription Rooms. The crowd swayed to the rhythms in the bright sunshine. I couldn't get a wider shot but liked this moment as they built to their finale.

I wasn't in the right mood unfortunately, as I had just heard that our neighbour's very young cat, called Roland, had died this morning of leukaemia. He was a delightful cat, who Bomble befriended when Roland was a tiny kitten about two years ago. They still played together, which Bomble loved doing, so I know he will miss him, without understanding what has happened.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.