Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

The Spring Tea

The annual ladies spring tea at our little church was today. Each table has a hostess who brings all her own lovely things to decorate a table and make place settings for each person who will sit at her table. I knew that I had a place a Cyndi's table. She is the dear friend who went above and beyond the call of friendship these past 18 months to care for George, the music director praise leader of our church who just died this past Wednesday due to cancer.

So as overloaded as Cyndi's life has been, she still took on the responsibility of decorating a lovely looking table with a variety of beautiful tea cups and silverware and lots of frills. She did a fabulous job. When I arrived there were two spots left at the table. I knew one was my place, and I didn't see Cyndi and figured she was in the kitchen or somewhere, so I asked the other gals at the table. And "yes" one place was mine, but Cyndi would not be there her aunt had died and she was at the funeral. I could hardly believe what I was hearing. She had decorated the table ahead of time and then left.

So I sat through this special event wondering how Cyndi is doing. I'll see her tomorrow and get to thank her for all that she contributed to make that table and the whole experience lovely. The theme today was all about fashion. It was enjoyable to be at a table with several gals who are special to me. One of those was Rebecca who I have known for years--since her three kids were knee-high to a duck--and now two of those kids are playing instruments and singing in our praise team and it looks like one of them, Lia, may fill the void that has been left by George's absence. Lia's 19th birthday was Wednesday, the day that George died. At first his going on her birthday seems awful, but I'm trying to see the bright side of this and believing that Lia just might be honored with a position that most 19 year olds could never get the opportunity to fill. She is immensely gifted and George has recently made her his intern. So we'll see what happens with this situation.

Well, the rest of my day has been extremely busy. We have 22 people coming to dinner here tomorrow evening. To say I am a little stressed would be a lie. I am a lot stressed. I've just about got my house cleaned from top to bottom -- okay the downstairs is looking good and that's where everyone will be. The tables are set. Everything looks pretty good. It's been a long time since we've had a dinner party, so I am rather out of practice. So if I manage blip tomorrow evening, you'll know I survived. I think it is going to be fun.

Right now it is really, really late. I'm headed for bed. I'm really, really tired.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.