Tuscany

By Amalarian

WILD CISTUS WITH VISITOR

I had to blip this now because they will soon be gone. I used to call them rock roses but now I think they are a variety of cistus. I await enlightenment from fellow blippers. I do this picture with some sadness because at one time the hill behind the house was white with these, interspersed with yellow broom. It was a magnificent sight.

I heard the weed zapper going one day, thought nothing of it, but later in the day I saw that the hill had been cleared. I wept. I gathered stacks of them and tried to save the seeds. A few are growing lower down the hill now but they cannot be seen from the house. I had to go down the steep driveway to get this picture.

With foliage.

For the record: + 18 C. The first sunny morning for a long while. Humidity 66%

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.