She left me on Friday...

By DiscoDown

George and Hobey's bench

Today has been a good day. Instead of doing all the mundane housey stuff we had planned for today, we took advantage of the nice weather and took a quick drive into Edinburgh for a walk around the meadows. I used to live over at Bruntsfield Links when I was at college so this part of town has special memories for me and always makes me wish I'd never left. I like taking the boys back there for a wander around and to see how much things have changed since I left.

We walked from Bruntsfield down through the links and crossed the road to the meadows. We walked down to the Pavillion and then across the meadows toward Quartermile. Along with the crowds, we stopped at Peter's Yard for a coffee and a few cakes (if you've never been you really should try Peter's Yard; they do all sorts of lovely stuff and serve proper coffee). We took a quick look around the apartments at Quartermile and considered whether we could move the family into town and live in an apartment. Jason had a bit of a run around the meadows while we headed back towards the links and insisted on stopping at the swing park for a while.

While Jason enjoyed the playground, and enthralled the other kids with his vast knowledge of all things Ben 10 (including demonstrations of the two Omnitrixes he was wearing), Karen and I sat like a pair of old farts on a bench and enjoyed the sun. We found this little Jakey sitting on a bench dedicated to George Ross and his dog Hobey and he became quite aggressive when we tried to move his bottle so we could sit down.

I've no idea who George Ross was but I love the fact that he and his dog Hobey have been remembered like this and hope they enjoyed the Links and the Meadows as much as I do, and as much as my family now do as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.