Dolcezza Della Vita

By Dolcezza

Appreciation...

Song of the moment...Paul Van Dyk's The Other Side

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Did you see the sunrise this morning? It surprises me how many people actually don't even slow down long enough to pay attention to the sun rise or set. A new day is truly a gift - tomorrow is not promised to us - any of us. Every sunrise is a new opportunity, another chance to keep our promises that we made to ourselves and others.

Those who truly know me, they get my passion for life. When you are given a second chance - you take it and run with it! I make it a point to catch the sunrise or sunset every single day and just appreciate it for what it is. I love the unfolding of a new day - the blending of the vibrant colors - the warmth and energy that it brings each and every single morning.

I came upon a discovery last year - while at a red light one evening, I glanced through the sunroof in the car and noticed the birds - they were all lined up facing the sun - every single one. Be it a sunrise or a sunset...watch them...they always face the sun...as if they are sitting back and enjoying it! So why is it so hard for us to slow down for a few minutes and just be still...to appreciate the beginning or ending of a day?!

My Noah shared one of his favorite books with me a while back - it's actually a great book on relationships...written in such a simple way... Olive Juice. There is a chapter in there that spoke to me...about sunsets...Chapter 18:

...I must share with you one other final experience regarding my trip to the Grand Canyon. As I wound my way along the south rim, I made it to the eastern-most viewing area just as the last vestiges of light streaked across the summer sky.

Trudging out of my car, I passed scores of people getting ready to witness the awesome spectacle about to take place: a sunset over the Grand Canyon.

People carried their cameras and camcorders toward the ridge, getting ready to forever capture and record this once in a lifetime sight. Fathers carried their children. Couples walked arm in arm. You could almost feel something in the air. From above, our single-minded trek to the edge must have looked like the epic final scene from a movie of Ben Hur proportions.

Arriving at the viewing area, I settled myself in on the rock against the wooden observation tower. The sunset was only minutes away now. Next to me, a couple from Germany lay in each other's arms against a tree as he readied his Pentax. Catching my smiling glance, a small nod came my way. To the other side of me, a father sat with his young daughter on a small bench. The well-worn bench had the engravings of hundreds of other couples who had come before to watch the nearing sight. Their own yearnings at immortality via the bench slowly being forever washed away by the other etchings of daily visitors and by Nature itself.


In front of me against the rail stood an elderly couple; his hands gingerly placed against her shoulders. Every few moments a gentle kiss would find its way to the small of her neck. They looked so enthralled with each other, this could've even been their first date. But the touches of familiarity and the rings on each hand said otherwise. (I've always been inspired by older couples in love. It seems so genuine. Like they've figured it all out and now there's nothing left to do but enjoy the secret. Time becoming their ally in further strengthening the bonds of love as each moment passes.)

The sunset was now only moments away. The Pentax whirred into action, capturing the "just before" pictures. The father helped his daughter stand on the once-painted bench to get the best possible view. And the hands of the elderly couple clasped together, as I'm sure had been done a thousand times over the years. Here it comes...And then I walked away.

I got up, brushed myself off and smiled at the obviously puzzled German couple. I turned around and headed toward the parking lot, passing a few stragglers who were rushing over to get to the edge before the show began. Reaching my car, I got in and drove away.

A few minutes later, driving from the Canyon to continue my journey, I could see the sun beginning to set in my rear view mirror. God, it must be beautiful there along the edge I thought to myself as I headed east. Heading toward tomorrow.

You see, I wasn't running from the sight I had just left, I was saving it. Saving a sunset for someone I don't even know yet. So I can give it away as a small little gift. A small treasure from my heart for the person I have yet to meet but I know is out there somewhere.

So as I continued east, the glare of the past reflecting in my eyes off the mirror, I caught a small glimpse of the future. My future. And I saw a camera in my hands as I lay against the tree. A child's tug against my sleeve as I held her close atop the bench. A small kiss upon my weathered cheek as I stood beside the railing.

Then in my mind's eye I saw the sun set across the Canyon for the very first time. The sunset I had passed on today but was saving for tomorrow. As I stood with someone yet to know, staring into the face of God.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.