Inarticulate Boy Wonder

By 0neTenthHero

Where The Wall Once Was

As Sam Cooke sang, "I don't know much about history" ... but I do find it amazing that a couple thousand years ago, the Roman Empire stretched from as far south as northern Africa all the way through Europe until it stopped a couple hundred metres from where I live.

As we're just over the north side of where the Antonine Wall stood, I like to think the Romans knew they didn't stand a chance against those wild, hairy Scots from the other side of the wall so they packed up and marched back to Rome. In truth, it was probably the wet summers and midges that drove them away.

Like I said, I didn't pay too much attention in History lessons, but I'm sure it went something like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.