Thistle Down

By Ethel

My Mother

If arms had never held me tight,
And soothed away my sobs at night.
If when I lay asleep at rest,
No lips to mine were ever pressed.

If no one cared about my plight,
Nor gently whispered what was right.
If I was sick and lay in bed,
And ordered pillows at my head.

If I was never taught to work,
And any thing I cared...could shirk.
If I tore down the robin's nest,
And demanded all I knew was best.

If I no blame would ever bear,
And with my friends, I'd never share.
If I was never taught to thank,
And was always shielded from the spank.

If plans all failed what ere I tried,
And questions asked, I always lied.
If you sometimes so loudly called,
And I talked back and kicked and bawled.

If I was never denied more cake,
And cried at night with the stomach-ache.
If you sent me to take a wash,
And I said, "no...and yelled..."My Gosh".

If all is true...then I am sure,
Forgotten...is so many more.
If I could all resistance haunt,
To do the things, I only want.

If you had never led aright,
And strived with all your mind and might.
And hoped some day that you could see,
Some changes brought about in me.

I wonder now...how I could do,
And get along not having you.
But...MOTHER DEAR...without your hand,
To point the way, and give command.

"For Goodness Sake"...I do confess,
I surely would of been a MESS.


E.P. 1908 - 1989

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.