Little Trinklet

A shining little trinklet,
Was kept within a box.
Where odds and ends collected,
For there were no needs of lock.

My Father said...that Grandpa,
Brought it back from Spain.
He bribed the...Duke of Warnock,
By talking...to obtain.

All cast in gold and jaded green,
In wound design...it sets.
With rounding edge and spangled bars,
And sealed with copper bits.

It had a fluted lauveleer,
That trippled down one side.
And double rows of lavish stone,
That were mainly used as guides.

Something told me it was true,
As I looked it up and down.
That this trinklet was a gay rosette,
That once adorned a crown.


E.P. 1908 - 1989

This is very meaningful because it is a jeweled thistle brooch given to me by my husbands mother several years ago. Thistle was Grandma's favorite 'flower'. My year of poetry and a picture a day is almost to an end and I have to say that in my reading of Ethel's poetry and sweet meditation, matching her words to an image in our present day...that she is the true priceless gem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.