Starry Eyed Surprise

By bellerock

A Whiteness of Swans

With Claire off to her club meeting this morning, Mr G and I decided to go swanning around the Ferry.

There must have been over thirty of these swans gathered beside the RNLI boathouse. Generally speaking the Swans were calm and content as a small group of people gathered to watch them.

I got speaking to a little boy and his Granddad who were happily feeding the swans a loaf of brown bread.

Grandad explained to me that the Swans gather here every year before the breeding session begins and he enjoys spending time feeding and watching them.

His Grandson was keen for me to join him feeding the swans. They were taking bread from Fraser quite happily but were less impressed with me. In the end I settled for taking some shots.

I've never been so close to so many swans at one time, and was feeling a little bit nervous, but Fraser was taking it all in his stride.

Grandad told me that last year's gathering included a pelican which thought it was a swan, now that would have been worth seeing.

This picture is begging for a caption, but I just can't seem to find the right one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.