The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Thomas

Wallowbarrow, Duddon Valley, Lake District

Simon belays Gemma as she completes the 39 metre steep first pitch of an intimidating route called Thomas. Gemma's first ever climb on real rock, and my first outing in two years. We did well, but then Simon is ever so calm and competent as a leader.

The second pitch of Thomas is only 11 metres, and at the point where it looks impossible to pull up, the outstretched hand finds with relief a vertical spike of rock that fits neatly in the hand.

In the woods below the crag, we heard pied flycatchers and a wood warbler singing. That takes my year list on to 130 (in the morning I had done a wetland bird survey, and saw my first house martins of the year flying inland).

Back to the climbing, I carried the D90 with me in my camera bag. Another 3 kilos or so, plus a lot of bulk. If we are going to start climbing again on a regular basis, I should perhaps use the Lumix compact instead.

Well, that's the last Bank Holiday for a while. Back to work tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.