Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Sunset

Last nights sunset was spectacular I could only watch it helplessly through the window whilst having diner. Not so this time I thought.

Inspired by another Hertfordshire blipper I decided to make the effort and chase around to get a decent sunset shot.

The plan was to drive on the A505 just to the outskirts of Letchworth and look West over Hitchin, it should be in the bag.

What could go wrong?

Weeeeeell. I got there and thought....I still have some time - I wonder if there is an even better spot.

Off I go in search of the elusive perfect spot! Driving past one possibility after another I end up on the other side of Hitchin chasing down the B655 towards Hexton behind the slowest car in the world, while the sun tantalisingly dipped below the horizon.

Note to self - do not chase the sunset! I cannot drive at the same speed that the earth spins! Also finding a spot that is good enough, IS good enough do for todays blip - PATIENCE!

Oh well, I screeched to a halt just over the brow of a hill and took a few shots. This was two landscapes, taken with telephoto lens stitched together. No real focus other than the setting sun itself and some pretty colours.

I should have got last nights! But then I had a blip already.

Hope you all had a great bank holiday weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.