Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Flower

Sorry I don't even know what they are called.

After yesterdays tearing along country lanes, this evenings blip is a much simpler affair.

I'm sure seasoned blippers will see flower and think Aahh - emergency blip! (Glasshoppah).

They are right!

It was quite amusing this evening. Mrs W was asking if I had done my blip yet. She now finds she is getting stressed out if I haven't done a blip by 8:30.

I had a bit of fun with this. I recently read a review of the latest sensor being produced by Sony - used in the new Nikon D7000 and others. It can be used at ISO 6400 with barely any noticeable drop in image quality.

I remember buying film with an ISO of 400. Even with the (then new) T grain structure, the results were often of marginal quality and barely usable.

This was shot with no flash at ISO 1250. These sorts of speeds were undreamed of 25 years ago when I bought my first SLR. Maybe soon a tripod will be a thing of the past. Probably not but its use will become more limited. This was taken using a monopod for support.

Hope you all had a nice break and that work wasn't too much of a shock to the system.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.