jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Picnic in the park

Well, last night I promised somebody I'd make it into church in the morning. Decided I wasn't going to let this sickness beat me into submission. Steve was on PA, so it was just me and Ben... Decided to take a different approach, and actually get out of bed and come downstairs for food rather than stay in bed and hide from everything.

It worked! Even though I was tired, I managed to eat before the hunger overwhelmed me. And that set me up. We were only a few minutes late for church! I didn't stop eating all morning... Managed to damage part of my tongue on salt and vinegar crisps (I still can't eat on one side of my mouth where the root canal work was done, gaps between teeth and all that stupidity so was eating these crisps on the other side and got a mouthful of very vinegary salt and oh boy it hurt!) but on the upside when I got to crèche I had some lovely cuddles with one of the little girls. She and Ben polished off a bag of crisps between them, other kids were helping themselves to somebody's sandwiches, it felt like a free-for-all picnic. It is a long morning for these little ones, church officially finishes after some of their lunch times start, and people don't often leave for another hour after that so quite a few people bring sandwiches for their kids.

We made plans to meet up in our local playpark afterwards, picnic lunch optional, and spent a happy afternoon there even if it was chilly! I have to say I don't enjoy sitting on the floor particularly at the moment, although it was worth it to have some lovely cuddles with baby Hannah when Libby went off to play with Nat. I've almost managed to get all the kids in on this shot, Nat, Gabriel and Ben are visible, baby Abraham is hidden behind Nat though.

If that wasn't enough, another friend turned up with his little girl (who is also Ben's age) so he and Steve had a chance to catch up!

We finished off the day with a trip into town for a coffee (for which I had to run home first to grab jackets!) and Ben fell asleep in the buggy on the way home again... and that was it for the night, he wasn't interested in waking up or anything...

Sickness wise, it's been a good day. I was flagging by the end of church, but proper food revived me. Sitting on the ground is uncomfortable, food is good, jackets are useful when it's windy. I love rennies; windsettlers are VERY useful but make me sick almost instantly even if they fix things for a while after.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.