Brief Encounter

Very brief! I realised when leaving work that I had forgotten I had a school meeting this evening and so as I was driving the 14 miles home from work, I was thinking of what I could Blip along the way. I spent a few minutes near a yacht club near Marino in Holywood but there wasn't much to see. I then accidentally came across this derelict railway station building in Cultra. I love railways, especially old railways, and I think it's a shame that these once busy old buildings are allowed to rot. The Cultra station seems large enough to have housed a station master and perhaps even had a tea room. It certainly had a waiting room and as you can see from the picture, some effort was made to present these buildings in a pleasing decorative style.
Even in it's heyday, I cannot imagine Celia Johnston and Trevor Howard trysting on this platform, but I wonder how many other lovers met here over the years? How many women said tearful goodbyes to their boyfriends or husbands heading off to war?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.