Tuscany

By Amalarian

INVASION BY FLOWER

Yes, I know, another flower, but this one is on an acacia tree. At this time of year, whole hillsides turn white with their blossoms. Acacia is the only tree you are allowed to cut in this part of Tuscany without permission from the Forestale. That's because it grows very, very fast and anywhere at that. A hill made ugly by a forest fire one autumn was covered by the green sprouts of acacia the following spring. A good thing. It was first identified in Africa, is a member of the mimosa family and was imported to Italy from Japan for use as fire wood and is used for that. When the temperature and humidity are just right, the beautiful scent from the blossoms is everywhere.

I dithered about blipping a picture of them but took a few shots of the hillsides this morning. The light was very bad so I thought I'd wait until it brightened up. Then it rained and the whiteness was reduced drastically as blossom were rained off. I had dithered too long. I knew, however, where there were some sheltered trees and rushed off there to take the above picture. Sheltered or not, they were bobbing and weaving in the wind. The blossoms are very like wisteria, only white.

Here is one of this morning's picture of a hillside. I could have used a completely white hill but it needs the contrast. Hillside.

For the record: 15 C. Showers. Humidity 82%. A new computer will arrive later today. I am fed up with the sizzling hot iMac and its screen marred with scorch marks. I will be tearing my hair out for a few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.