"Make it sound like a church"

Now THIS is how a break from work should be. It's a long double shift today, so I broke it up by going to see one of my favourite musicians, Robyn Hitchcock, play a short in-store set at Big Dipper records in Oslo. He walked in, plugged in his guitar, asked for some reverb, said "Make it sound like a church", and started playing. He did a couple of new songs, Nick Drake's "River Man", a request ("No, I don't Remember Guildford") and "Sleeping With Your Devil Mask" and then signed some records. Shame I can't make his proper concert later tonight because of fecking work, but this was a nice consolation.

(If you don't know Robyn Hitchcock, he's influenced a few bands in his time - REM for one. One of my favourite songs by him is "The Speed of Things".)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.