just allan

By allan

Scene stealer

Early morning in Belhaven Bay, East Lothian. Taking pictures of the eider ducks with the Bass Rock in the background and gannets floating above, the action kicked off when a crow attacked a herring gull to steal it's breakfast - which seems to be a crab! I'm not a fan of herring gulls, so it's good to see a herring gull on the receiving end for once, out-thieved by the crow. The eiders rose above it all and floated on by, as ducks do.

I woke at 6AM feeling a bit rubbish and since I knew I'd not get back to sleep, I went out on the bike. With an hour til I had to leave for the train, I shot off down the beach to see what I could see. Not the first and not the last time I'll do that! I just made it home in time to shower and throw on some clothes - my shirt wasn't ironed but I don't think anyone noticed... :/

More photos from this morning on Flickr.

The rest of the day was just work in Edinburgh, looking out the window and wishing I was out there in the sunshine. Hmph. I'm very glad I got out this morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.