just allan

By allan

Mute Point

Mute Swan on the Biel in Belhaven Bay, East Lothian. I was at home today with Malcolm who was under the weather, and we went down to the beach once he felt a bit better. We carefully approached a group of mute swans and canada geese for a few pictures. As one swan climbed out of the water, Malcolm whispered to me "would that be a good blip Dad?" I replied it might be if the swan did something like have a wing stretch - "just like that!" click click click.

EDIT: I changed my mind on which photo to use, after remembering the little conversation above. The one I originally posted on blip is of a swan which sailed up and fed right by us here.

Malc found another caterpillar which we have in a vase in the house now. I'm told these pupate in soil, rather than hanging from a branch, so we have to work out how to cater for its needs! The caterpillar and a few more birds from our walk on Flickr.

I'm still really after tern shots and I got a bit more insight into their behaviour. There were a pair fishing up & down the beach which I noticed would travel the length of the shore and back. This is unlike gannets, which basically fish a spot. I also noticed that they call often so I was able to identify them by ear before I was sure visually. I did get a few tern shots I was quite pleased with which are on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.