Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

A young man steps towards adulthood.

I remember when I was his age - I had very little time for politicians. I could argue a point but had very little knowledge and even less interest.

I did think the system was antiquated, unjust, full of faults and needed changing. Now I think I have just run out of steam about the whole charade. Perhaps I have just become more cynical.

Edgar is studying politics and constitutional history for A level and now knows a frightening amount about what is going on - more than I ever did at his age. At least he can blag very convincingly and I wouldn't know any better. He is also enthusiastic about the opportunity to change the system.

So, he isn't old enough to vote yet, but if he wants to do something about it, he can have mine. BUT he has to get up early to go and vote before school.

Fair play to him, up he gets and off we go. I let him put the cross on the paper wherever he wanted and I put it into the ballot box.

The question that crosses my mind now is - he is 17 and can get out of bed early and go and vote. How many adults, who enjoy the hard won right to exercise a democratic vote won't even bother?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.