Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

In Search of Ancient Man

A badminton tournament took Hugo and I to the Oxfordshire / Wiltshire borders today.

Its odd how yesterday was the first day I have missed a blip since starting yet today I was spoilt for choice.

I chose to visit Silbury Hill the largest man-made mound in Europe. It is comparable in height and volume to the roughly contemporary Egyptian pyramids. Probably completed in around 2400 BC, it apparently contains no burial. Though clearly important in itself, its purpose and significance remain unknown. There are plenty of theories around concerning its construction. The amazing thing is - this was probably built by men using antler horns and the like as tools.

I visited this place once before approx. 30 years ago, just after finishing Uni as I was walking along the Ridgeway. You could walk up it then. It is frighteningly steep, which makes me think it must have been a defensive structure.

There is lots of good stuff around here including Avebury Stone Circle possibly the most important prehistoric monument in Europe. Which was very popularwhen I visited. There are also lots of White Horse prehistoric markings around. The list goes on and on - Blowingstone Hill, King Arthers Castle, remains of the Beaker People, West Kennet Long Barrow and nice pubs and other thatched buildings.

Hugo had a good tournament, I had a good time exploring.

Hope you are all having a nice weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.