CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

My Election Day in Trinity ward

I took Helena to the polling station on her way to the train station early this morning. John Marjoram, our Green candidate for both the District and Parish Councils, was outside on point duty. He has been elected here ever since he first stood successfully in 1986 and is still the Deputy Mayor till at least next week.

John encouraged me to stand two years ago for the Parish council and I was co-opted, rather than elected, when a vacancy arose in nearby Slade ward. Now I have campaigned for the very first time to be 'properly' elected in my own Trinity ward. One person did tell me last year that because I was co-opted onto the council I wasn't really a councillor! The Greens are supporting me for one of the three seats available, hoping that the conservative candidate who lives 3 miles away won't be elected.

John reassured me that I could vote for myself in the parish election, which I did! He is also telling everyone else to vote for me too, which is a bonus, as he is so well known and respected locally. I am an Independent candidate but mostly agree with Green objectives.

I asked the presiding officer at the Polling station if I could take a photo and was eventually allowed to do so, after some consultation. However I got the assistant polling clerk, Lesley, to take my photo for posterity in front of the paperwork and the polling booths. The green form at the front of the picture is the Parish voting slip. I set the camera to fully automatic and Lesley took this one shot, so at last I have a full self-portrait to offer to blippers on the day I hope to be formally approved as a local useful member of society!

I must press on with my work now, and will let you know after the count, which starts at midday tomorrow, whether I have been elected. Fingers crossed

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.