CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The count of my votes

I attended the election count at Stroud Leisure Centre this afternoon. We had to wait for the District Council election results before they started on the Stroud Town Council wards.

There were three seats in Trinity Ward and four candidates. John Marjoram was re-elected on both Councils, having served for twenty-five years as a Green. I won a seat! Yay! The unfortunate loser was Will, who works for our MP, but he wasn't surprised. We met for the first time and chatted and despite the differences I rather liked him.

Here is a picture of the counters, if that is their official title, busy totting up our Ward's votes. The yellow papers were what mattered. It was quite dark in the windowless hall and I was asked not to use flash, so the pictures didn't turn out too well. But that doesn't matter today; this is a personal record of my first election.

I am really pleased. We can get on with a new four year mandate as a Green town council, with twelve Green members, four independents and one more seat to be arranged by co-option.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.