Starry Eyed Surprise

By bellerock

These are a few of my favourite things

No kids today as the school was being used as a Polling Station. So, after our whole school meeting before our coffee break, we were free to get on with our own agendas.

I had a to do list ready to work from and I got all but 1 of my 9 to-dos ticked off. (so chuffed)

My biggest achievement was a tidy up of the classroom. I can't believe we've managed to pack in so much stuff into a such a small space. I found the most random of items such as mini bottle of perfume, a Simpsons comic and a stag's antler??

I'm not sure how these things fit in cross-curricular wise but someone is clearly very creative in their choice of materials used.

After work, I had arranged to go around to Marta's house to take some photos. Marta is a local artist who has been very busy creating these absolutely gorgeous brooch bouquets for her Sister's wedding.

I'm not sure that my picture does justice, as they are a mesmerising collection of brooches that have been sculpted in 4 bouquets.

Marta tells me that they have been a lot of work and her hands and fingers are proof. Each brooch has been carefully selected and wire twisted around it to bind it to the body of the bouquet.

Most of the brooches have been donated by friends and family and come with a unique story and have great sentimental value. The Bride has also had several brooches that have special significance to her incorporated into her bouquet.

When I arrived at Marta's house, she was in the middle of finishing the 4th bouquet which will be used at this coming Saturday's ceremony.

I don't think Marta is keen to repeat this commission anytime soon, but I hope that she will continue to make similar pieces to these bouquets are they are absolutely amazing.

As I was taking pictures of them, I kept discovering quite a few of my favourite kinds of brooches on each of the bouquets.

What a lovely keepsake from your wedding day and this is one Bride who won't be able to throw her bouquet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.