Munlochy village hall is our local polling station today.  Just a quick snap after voting, and then pedal off to work.

Locally, I reckon we've had more leaflets and other bumf in this election, than in any other I can remember. As ever, I haven't read a single one of them, and suspect that'll be case for most other folk. Straight to the recycling bin.

You have to laugh at the irony of the alternative vote referendum. After putting down an 'X' for my view on that, I then cast my votes for the members of our devolved government, which of course uses a mixed system with a proportional element. I like our system, but think the alternative vote system offered for the UK is a bit of a joke - it doesn't go nearly far enough. If you live in a staunch one party voting area, that always gets in with a huge majority, what's the point in voting if you'd like something else. Your vote won't make any difference, and that will still be the case with the possible new system. Won't help apathy in the electorate for such areas. Of course, "your mileage may vary..."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.