life is a blip

By lifeisablip

Pretty good is a long way to go

In the past year, Whit has rekindled his love for the guitar. His music has become a staple of our everyday lives. And we love it.

When I was growing up, I played the violin. And now that I am getting into HBO's second season of Treme (you should really watch it if you're into music at all), I have decided I want to pick back up the violin. (Enter daydreams of Whit and I starting a two-man band.)

So yesterday we went out and bought a cheap violin for me to practice on. (I have a really nice violin back home in the States, gathering dust in some random closet). But as I picked up this new violin, all the memories came rushing back. My beloved violin teacher, a kindly old man named Mr. Guess, tapping his foot while I played, a smile creeping up on his face. "Pretty good," he would say after I damn well perfected the song after months and months of practice. "Pretty good."

On my first day back on the wagon, I broke two strings trying to tune it. Nearing tears, I gave up.

But Whit would not have it. He immediately drove back to the music store and bought two more E strings.

So today I picked it up again. An hour or so later, we can now play our first tune: "The Star of the County Down."

We are having so much fun with it already. Now, our neighbors above and beneath us, probably would not call this "fun."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.