SAH on Blipfoto

By sahfotoblip

Capernwray

This is Capernwray Dive Centre near Lancaster, first time I have ever been and it was brilliant! Its about a 3 hour journey from Northamptonshire up the M6 but it was totally worth it.

We went up on Friday night so that I could be there for 9am.

I was finishing my Drysuit speciality course off that I started on March 13th last year but had to abandon due to a faulty valve and some seriously bad vis at Stoney Cove!

Today though none of those problems, my bouancy felt really good I can really see the difference and how beneficial the week in Egypt was in February. I had no issues with the valve although I have short arms and when I'm underwater i'm struggling to reach the dump valve on my left arm. Still I had two good dives with things to take away from each one, mainly confidence and niggly issues that will sort themselves out when I have my own drysuit and with everything the more I wear a drysuit the more I will feel happier. The problem with hiring one from the club is that they rarely fit right and with the suit I was wearing today the boots were too big by several sizes causing cramp in my calf and trapped air in the feet. I need to resolve this soon, so I have been trawling the scuba diving sites looking at different ones and next weekend I am heading to Portland in Dorset so will go in and talk to the guys at O'Three and see what they have to say and look at their suits.

One thing I do know is that I much prefer using my BCD to control my bouancy rather than the drysuit. It felt totally out of my comfort zone which is not a bad thing its good to stretch yourself but I still prefer using my BCD! As someone said it is almost like learning to dive again.

A good day though and I have my ticket now! More diving in the UK to be done as I can extend my season by being able to use a drysuit!

Thanks for your messages the other day on my blip day and a very special occasion.

Edit... I have just seen my one year ago thumbnail... can't believe its a year ago that we were getting ready to leave Ghana heading for home... we had to say goodbye to those lovely lovely people in that blip... we miss you all!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.