Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

God's own country

No one required anything of me today, and everyone else was away doing their own thing, so I grabbed boots, rucksack, snacks and camera and headed for the hills. It is always a pleasure to be able to go for a decent walk without driving somewhere first, so, sitting pouring over the maps in the car, I realised that was exactly what to do.

I walked from the house past Haystoun with its stunningly beautiful lochan and up Glen Sax. I hadn't been there before, despite its proximity to the house, though I'd looked down on it a few times from nearby hills. The track was good and after greeting a few other walkers, I soon had it to myself. The Glen is mainly open moorland, but with some nice stands of trees, other than the enormous scar left foreground where a plantation has been removed and the remaining stumps burned. What a mess. Looked like the Somme without the craters.

Peebles is just visible in the middle distance, with the Pentlands on the horizon.

The weather was perfect for walking - sunshine, some clouds but no rain and a slight breeze to keep me cool. Though the climb from the foot of the Glen to the nearby ridge to get home nearly killed me (must get fit somehow; today surely must have helped).

Everywhere, there were signs of growth; new shoots appearing on the trees, in the grasses and in the heather. I even had the privilege of watching and listening to a skylark. Scotland at its best ..... the day seemed to reflect the mood abroad. I spent a lot of my walk pondering the events of the past few days, and decided one or two things, but that's for later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.