Journey Through Time

By Sue

Other Mothers

First of all, just look at the two ladies on either side of the bride (who looks like she is going into the Convent. I have no explanation for this other than, dude, it was the 70's.) Do not focus on the poor quality of the wedding photo! This comes under things you wish you could do over. Don't have time to find a better photo of them today. ANYWAY!! I digress. The lady to the right of the bride (gold dress) is my aunt, sister of my mom. I blipped my mom on her birthday, so this Mother's Day blip is about my other mothers. Aunt Joan took over after my mom died. She is nearly 17 years older than me, so we have had an aunt/mom/sister relationship. The lady to the left of the bride (coral dress) is my dad's second wife, and my step-mom. She is 13 years older than me and I have known her since I was 11 years old and she was the young bride to my dad, 18 years her senior. They had a loving relationship until his death. My step-mom and I started off a bit rocky as we each vied for my father's attention, but it has ended strong and she introduces me as her daughter and I always wonder if people wonder about that as we are close in age.

I ended up with three mom's and they all were/are pretty special to me. Happy Mother's Day to all of my dear ladies.

Sondra's sister can be seen here. My mother is here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.