CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Welcoming me home

I have had my interview and I'm free for a few hours. The result won't be decided till Friday, so I now have to let go and carry on!. It has been an intense period recently, but at least the electorate voted for me. We have our first council meeting tonight to plan ahead, and for all the new councillors to be welcomed.

Yesterday I did some background research on important legislation out in the cabin, with a torrential shower distracting me at one point. I stopped looking at my papers and turned towards the cactus plant I had brought out from the house for the summer season. I haven't looked after it particularly well and never know when to give it a rest from any watering. It has been growing out of its tiny plastic pot and I have considered splitting it and potting it on.

But as I looked at it I noticed a flower bud had shot out horizontally with its petals all still wrapped around themselves, ready to unfurl and already about two inches long. I came out today on my return with a fresh brew of coffee and a sense of relief. I din't look at the cactus at first and shuffled about. When I finally saw it backlit by a blast of sunshine in the window of the cabin, I was taken aback. I just recorded it from where I first saw it, which probably wasn't the best way to shoot it but it is what I saw. Verite.

The diameter of the flower is at least three inches and maybe growing still. If you look just beside the right hand petal, you can see the next brown bud surrounded by tiny hairs, waiting to open. There are a few more buds on the other side as well. I can also report that the little epiphyllum flower that I blipped HERE is also bristling with new flowers.

In the middle of this cactus are a lot of brown stalks, the remnants of a Maidenhair Fern that self-seeded on the winds in the house, suddenly last summer. In fact they are all over the house and might become a pest! But a lovely pest, compared to the scale and the greenfly.

Note:

I have just noticed that the ISO was set to automatic, which I never normally do. forgot to reset it after the dark shot from yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.