CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Paper Arts

I promised to take Helena to a good craft shop before going to her job this afternoon. Up the Golden valley beyond Brimscombe, we turned left into the Toadsmoor valley and on to the edge of a small underused industrial zone, between the old mills which closed long ago.

Paper Arts have their showroom premises, behind a very wide glass frontage. Helena knew they had some supplies she had been after for a while, so while she explored I wandered about. I kept seeing patterns amongst shelves, stacks and floor stands displaying all the many craft items. But it was the colours and the patterns they made when presented together in this way. It reminded me of visiting shops selling silk cloth and clothing in Bangkok, or sarongs in Indonesia.

It was very dark when I reached the farthest part of the shop, with only overhead fluorescent light. I tried a range of shots but this one using the automatic function with flash was my favourite. I like the multitude of colours, in patterns arranged for selling, rather than for viewing or touching. The owner was a very nice woman, who said she didn't mind when I knocked a pile of goods from the top of a stand, while trying to steady my camera against its edge. Sorry.

I am having a lazy day and enjoying it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.